Certification and Qualification

Links to Supporting Information


Australasian Radiation Protection Accreditation Board

Candidate's Kit: This document describes requirements for Accreditation in Ionising Radiation Safety within
Australia and New Zealand. This accreditation scheme has been designed as an appropriate
level of study and experience for professionals undertaking the duties of a Radiation
Protection Advisor.

Application Form: Accreditation in Ionising Radiation Safety within Australia and New Zealand 


Canadian Radiation Protection Association

Information for Applicants (CRPA (R) Designation): The CRPA (R) designation indicates that a Radiation Safety Professional (RSP) possesses the training and experience required of an entry-level Radiation Safety Professional as determined by CRPA and has passed an examination administered by the CRPA that is based on the core competencies identified for a Radiation Safety Professional. The benefit is that a regulator, employer or member of the public can have some confidence of a person’s qualifications if that person has the CRPA (R) credential.


The Society for Radiological Protection

RPA 2000 (Certification): RPA 2000 was set up in 2000 as a non profit making company, limited by guarantee, for certifying competence in radiation protection practice. It was established by four Professional Societies, namely the Association of University Radiation Protection Officers (AURPO), the Institute of Physics and Engineering in Medicine (IPEM), the Society for Radiological Protection(SRP) and the Institute of Radiation Protection (IRP), which has since been incorporated into the Society for Radiological Protection.

RPA 2000 currently operates four Competence Certification Schemes to assess the competence of:

Successful applicants are awarded the appropriate Certificate of Competence, which is valid for a period of five years and which can be renewed.


American Board of Medical Physics

Application Form: The ABMP tests the candidate's experience and practical knowledge in the area of current radiation protection standards and practices for both ionizing and nonionizing radiation. ABMP MHP certification is recognized by the NRC for RSO eligibility. Candidates who meet these standards will receive recognition on their diploma. Acceptable verification must be obtained from a Certified Medical Physicist and a Certified Physician who practices in a medical specialty related to the candidate's field, and who have personal knowledge of the candidate's training, experience, and ethical standing.

American Board of Health Physics

Information for Applicants (CHP Designation): The American Board of Health Physics is the certification body for the practice of professional health physics. The ABHP has existed since 1958 and is responsible for determining the qualifications of a Certified Health Physicist (CHP). Requirements to become a CHP are found on the main website and include academic and experience criteria as well as successful performance on two certification examinations. The Part I exam is in multiple choice format and covers fundamentals of health phsyics. The Part II exam is a combination of longer questions that cover a broader topic range. Members of the ABHP are appointed by the American Academy of Health Physics to 5-year terms. The Board members appoint members of two Panels of Examiners which prepare and grade their respective certification exams.