## Prof. Eliseo Vañó Rolf M Sievert Award 2020





Prof. Eliseo Vañó

Prof. Rolf M. Sievert

Prof. Eliseo Vañó has been appointed to receive the Sievert 2020 Award at the opening session of the 15<sup>th</sup> IRPA International Congress that will take place in Seoul in May 2020, where he will also deliver the Sievert Conference.

The Sievert Award, which honours the memory of Professor Rolf M. Sievert, leader and pioneer of radiation protection, is awarded every four years in recognition of personalities who have made outstanding contributions to our discipline. It is the most prestigious award worldwide in radiation protection.

The previous recipients of the Sievert Award were:

1973 Prof. Bo Lindell (Sweden)

1977 Prof. W.V. Mayneord (United Kingdom)

1980 Dr. Lauriston. S. Taylor (USA)

1984 Sir Edward Pochin (United Kingdom)

1988 Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Jacobi (Germany)

1992 Dr. Giovanni Silini (Italy)

1996 Dr. Dan J. Beninson (Argentina)

2000 Prof. Dr. Itsuzo Shigematsu (Japan)

2004 Ing. Abel J. Gonzalez (Argentina)

2008 Prof. Christian Streffer (Germany)

2012 Dr. Richard Osborne (Canada)

2016 Dr. John Boice (USA)

Prof. Eliseo Vañó enlarges this list of exceptional personalities in radiological protection after a very intense life dedicated to Radiation Protection in Medicine and Medical Physics. Prof. Vañó is Emeritus Professor of Medical Physics of the Department of Radiology of the Complutense University of Madrid, where he was the first Full Professor of Medical Physics of all the Spanish Universities and promoted the creation of the Medical Physics Expert Degree and the centralized Radiation Protection and Medical Physics Services in Spain. He was the Head of the Medical Physics Service for 34 years at the San Carlos University Hospital in

Madrid and nominated Advisor of the Spanish Ministry of Health for Radiation Protection in 2008, being part of the EURATOM Group of Experts and member of the Spanish delegation in UNSCEAR.

Eliseo Vañó has been president of the Committee of Radiological Protection in Medicine of the ICRP until 2017, where he led the elaboration of numerous key reference publications since he joined it in 2001. Currently he is Emeritus Member of the Main Commission of ICRP. Prof. Vañó is also a consultant of the IAEA for topics concerning medical exposures during more than 25 years and has been involved in missions in many Latin American, Asian, African and European Countries. He has contributed many of the IAEA training packages for radiation protection in medicine.

Prof. Vañó has led more than 30 research projects, 15 of them funded by the European Commission, mainly dealing with image quality and patient and staff dosimetry in medical imaging and interventional radiology. He authored more than 300 scientific publications included in the Web of Science.

Prof. Vañó is honorary member of the Spanish Society of Medical Physics, the Spanish Society of Vascular and Interventional Radiology and the Spanish Society of Radiological Protection. He also received the Barclay Medal of the British Institute of Radiology in 1996 and the International Union for Physical and Engineering Sciences in Medicine Awards of Merit in 2018.